Element 5 Digital via Unsplash

The polls for New Jersey’s primary elections have closed. Mail-in ballots were required to be postmarked by 8 p.m. Tuesday or dropped in secure ballot dropboxes by that time.

This post will be updated as results come in Tuesday night. Results will not yet reflect mail-in or provisional ballots.

Results for unopposed races will be updated after all districts report; other races will be updated periodically. Results are from county clerk-operated election sites unless otherwise noted.

Asterisks (*) denote projected winners

Last updated: 8:20 a.m. Wednesday.

SAVE MONTCLAIR LOCAL: We need your support, and we need it today. The journalism you value from Montclair Local, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, depends on the community's support — we exist because the old model of selling ads alone just can't fund journalism at the level we endeavor to provide. That's why you've seen other local newsrooms cut back staff or shut down entirely. Montclair Local was created because we believe that's unacceptable; the community's at its best when triumphs are celebrated, when power is held to account, when diverse lived experiences are shared — when the community is well-informed.

Montclair is seeking to raise $230,000 from donors, members and grantors between Oct. 1 and Dec. 31 to put us on firm footing for 2022, and continue supporting the hard work of our journalists into the new year and beyond. Visit MontclairLocal.news/donations to see how we're doing and make your contribution.

Essex County Sheriff — Seeking Democratic nomination (503/548 districts reporting):

  • Incumbent Democrat Armando Fontoura* — 25,285
  • John Arnold — 6,089
  • Barry Jackson — 1,508

Essex County Sheriff — Seeking Republican nomination (503/548 districts reporting):

  • Maureen Edelson — 1,387
  • Nicholas Pansini* — 5,609

Governor — Seeking Democratic nomination: 

  • Incumbent Phil Murphy* (unopposed)

Governor — Seeking Republican nomination (89% of districts reporting, statewide) As reported by the Associated Press via NJ.com: 

  • Jack Ciattarelli* — 153,076
  • Brian Levine — 9,901
  • Philip Rizzo — 81,559
  • Hirsh Singh — 66,643

34th Legislative District, Assembly — Seeking Democratic nomination (two seats):

  • Incumbent Thomas Giblin* (unopposed)
  • Incumbent Britnee Timberlake* (unopposed)

34th Legislative District, Assembly — Seeking Republican nomination (two seats):

  • Tafari Anderson* (unopposed)
  • Irene DeVita* (unopposed)

34th Legislative District, Senate — Seeking Democratic nomination:

  • Incumbent Nia Gill* (unopposed)

34th Legislative District, Senate — Seeking Republican nomination: 

  • Scott Pollack* (unopposed)